May The Odds Be In Your Favor In “Raze”

Director: Josh C. Weller

Writer: Robert Beaucage, Kenny Gage, Josh C. Weller

Starring: Zoe Bell, Rachel Nichols, Tracie Thoms

Two enter the ring and one comes out! The basic plot to Raze is a secret society of rich people kidnaps women from various backgrounds and various knowledge of fighting. Whether it’s kickboxing classes or MMA training, these freaks want you. Sabrina(Zoe Bell) along with other women are forced to fight to the death for the wealthy’s entertainment. If they don’t fight then their loved ones are killed. If they lose, their loved ones also die. Let the games begin and let the odds be ever in your favor.

I didn’t enjoy this as much as I thought I would. To tell the truth I fast forward most of it. There were a few things that just bugged me to no end.

The first thing that bothered me: If you don’t fight or if you lose, your loved ones die. Why bother fighting in the first place? Your family or friends are dead anyway.

Second thing that bothered me: Didn’t their family and friends report them missing? Wouldn’t the FBI notice that women with fighting skills going on blind dates then disappear? Also wouldn’t the FBI also notice that the families and friends of the missing women end up dead? Too much of a coincidence….

Third thing that bothered me: There’s no prize at the end of the tournament! No million dollars, no offer to join the secret society, nothing! You’re basically a fighting dog until you die in the ring! Why bother fighting at all?!

Really, in the end you’re only watching this for the fights. You don’t care about the fighters’ sob stories, you really don’t care if they make it or not. Like I said earlier, I fast forwarded the sob story bits. I wasn’t interested and they didn’t make me want to be interested. I kinda wanted some of the sound effects from Mortal Kombat during the fights. Yeah! Finish Her!! 

I’m giving this a D

Mortal Kombat:

Trailer

One thought on “May The Odds Be In Your Favor In “Raze”

  1. Pingback: What a Real Mortal Kombat Fatality Would Look Like! | Damsels With Chainsaws

Leave a Reply

