Aliens Roaming Around in “Storage 24”

Director: Johannes Roberts

Writers: Noel Clarke, Davie Fairbanks, Johannes Roberts, Marc Small

Starring: Noel Clarke, Colin O’Donoghue, Antonia Campbell-Hughes, Laura Haddock

Or when Captain Hook steals Mickey Smith’s girlfriend while being chased by a hungry extra-terrestrial.

Anyways, this film is from 2012 and the basic plot is a group of friends are trapped in a storage facility. While they’re trying to find a way out, they realize that E.T. isn’t very friendly. Hopefully everyone can set aside their differences and work together to bring the alien down!

I stumbled upon this movie while channel surfing. The thing that caught my eye were these two names “Noel Clarke” and “Colin O’Donoghue”. I know these two from the shows Doctor who and Once Upon A Time. So I thought, “What the hell. Hopefully it isn’t boring.” I’ll admit, this sounded a bit ridiculous but I was very entertained.

It all starts with Mark(O’Donoghue) and Charlie(Clarke) heading to a storage facility that Charlie and his former girlfriend, Shelley (Campbell-Hughes) shared. Heartbroken over the break up, Charlie pays little attention to the radio announcement about a military plane crashing in London and that the city is on lockdown. While at the facility they bump into Shelley and her friends and start arguing over the “who”, “what”, and “why” about the break up. Once the lights start to flicker and the engineer goes missing, that when things get interesting. They’re now trapped in the storage facility with a CGI/Puppet alien monster that is hellbent on killing them. And then to make it worse, we find out that Mark is Shelley’s “Other Man”.

I loved the concept of this dysfunctional group of friends trap with an alien. I really did. I also liked how Noel Clarke came up with the idea and co-wrote this. Not just a pretty face, am I right? But what bothered me about the alien itself was that it bounced back and forth between CGI and makeup/fabrication. You all know me, I prefer the makeup/fabrication more than CGI. Although, when it came to the really gory parts I thought it was amazing. it didn’t matter if it was CGI or makeup/fabrication.

For example, Mark got his face chewed off by the alien. My response sown below…

All I have to say is that was Karma at it’s finest.

The other thing that bothered me was that there was this “sex scene”, if you can call it that, where the camera kinda zones in and out of their faces and hands and show then taking their jackets off. If you’re going to do that, please let it be for an actual sex scene! These two were just making out; dry humping wasn’t even involved! I hated that scene.

But the best part of the film is…….wait for it……..the black guy DOESN’T die!! You heard right! the Black Guy doesn’t die. He’s actually the one who saves the day! We need more of these situations in HOLLYWOOD.

All together, I was entertained. I wasn’t extremely impressed but this is a movie I would actually like to watch when I want to watch something fun.

Final Grade: C+

Here’s a trailer

Leave a Reply

