Sing Along With “The Devil’s Carvinal”!

I think I already posted about Repo! The Genetic Opera and how insanely brilliant it was. Well, imagine my surprise and joy that Terrance Zdunich, who wrote Repo!, has pulled another gem out of his imagination.

I’m talking about The Devil’s Carnival. For this post I’m doing something different. Instead of reviewing the movie (Damsel Cannibal will take care of that) I’m reviewing the soundtrack. I haven’t seen the movie yet so listening to the soundtrack first gives a little something extra, don’t you think?

Anyways, from what I gather it’s about three people who go to Hell which is fashioned like a carnival. For being Hell, I thought these demons were hilariously upbeat. It’s like it gives the damned souls a false sense of security. Carnivals are supposed to be fun…that is until you’re tricked into repeating your mistakes over and over. And while these damned souls are navigating their way through Hell, the Devil is reading stories we’ve all heard like “The Scorpion and the Frog” or “The Dog and Her Reflection” to point out why they’re in Hell in the first place. By the end of it, The Devil comes up with a brilliant plan of putting Heaven out of business by offering “Grace For Sale”.

Fun facts about this, Zdunich plays the role of The Devil. You’ll also get to enjoy sequels to The Devil’s Carnival. The rock opera is going to be in three parts. From what I’ve heard, The Devil’s Carnival: Alleluia is going to focused on Heaven. So let’s see how well God takes The Devil selling redemption to lost souls.

I really enjoyed the music because it was fun. For example, check out these lyrics!

Track 11: Trust me, trust me, honeydew. Just like I trust you. 

Track 16: Fa la la! It’s off to Hell we go. Cross your heart and hope to die, it’s off to Hell we go!

Those are just a couple. If I type anymore I’m just going put the complete lyrics up. I absolutely loved the whole thing but, of course, I have my favorites. Track 3 In All My Dreams I Drown, Track 8 Beautiful Stranger, Track 9 A Penny For a Tale, Track 11 Trust Me, and Track 15 Grace For Sale. I have a playlist below so take a listen and enjoy!

Which songs were your favorites?

Expanded Soundtrack

Leave a Reply

