Our Crushed “Silent Hills” Dreams

This has to be one of the biggest disappointments of my gamer life. It was announced last year that there was going to be a new addition to the Silent Hill franchise with game designer Hideo Kojima. But that’s not what got my attention. What really had me hopeful about this game was the fact that Guillermo del Toro was taking part in the project. It also didn’t hurt that Norman Reedus was going to be in it too. My favorite horror director and one of my favorite actors in one video game?! Hell yes I wanna play!!

Even Damsel Cannibal was excited about the game. I can’t remember if she and her husband played the “Playable Teaser” or just watched a walkthrough on Youtube, but she loved the gore and the suspense. This is why were friends. We even had plans to film a reaction video for this blog. Sadly that’s one project that’s not going to happen.

From my understanding, Kojima(Metal Gear Solid) was having some sort of spat with the publisher Konami. It makes me sad when a great project like this has to suffer because two parties can’t come to a compromise. Long story short, Kojima is out and Silent Hills is dead and buried…………or is it?

Turns out that fans are hitting Change.org to petition Kojima to continue with the project. The petition has already hit over 18,000 signatures. In the petition, the writer also points out that if money is the issue fans may be more that willing to start a Kickstarter campaign to show their support. I doubt that this is going to help resurrect Silent Hills, but I think the gesture is amazing. Don’t underestimate fan power!

At the bottom of the page I’ll have a link to the petition in case you want to add your support.

Is there anyone here who has played the P.T.? How did you like it? Do you think the petition will help or is it just wishful thinking?

Sites:

https://www.change.org/p/kojima-productions-continue-working-on-silent-hills

Videos:

Leave a Reply

