Splinter(2008): A Review

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/1/11/Splinterposter08.jpg/220px-Splinterposter08.jpg

Director: Toby Wilkins

Starring: Shea Whigham, Jill Wagner, Paulo Costanzo

In this twisted film, a young couple are trapped in an isolated gas station with an escaped convict. Sounds like a bad joke right? Well, that bad joke doesn’t have a spiky parasite that snatches living hosts and stitches them together in a creepy, Picasso inspired monster. The three captives must work together to combat this monster before they become a part of this patchwork parasite.

 I didn’t think it was a bad movie. It wasn’t an amazing movie but I found it entertaining and creepy. I turned into that viewer who yells at the TV saying, “No! Don’t go there!” or “Bitch, look behind you!!!” I thought it was completely gross how the parasite would latch onto a person and the creepy sound it made…ICK! My favorite scene was where it latched onto an amputated hand and it scuttled across the floor like a spider! One of the things that added to the terror was you never saw the creature completely. You saw bits and pieces of it throughout the movie and then, if I remember correctly, at the end you see it.

Your imagination plays tricks with you. Like I said, I enjoyed it and I recommend that you watch it.

I give it a B+

Trailer:

Leave a Reply

