The Tortured: A Review

http://i.movie.as/p/600/90472.jpg

Director: Robert Lieberman

Starring: Erika Christensen and Jesse Metcalfe

Let’s get on with the gory madness! A couple experience the most terrifying thing a parent can go through…the murder of their child. For sum unknown reason, their son’s killer get 25 to life with possibility of parole. That just won’t do. So they plan on kidnapping the killer while he’s being transported and torture him to death.  JUSTICE!!

I liked this movie because of how it presented the pain of both parents. Most movies focus on how the mother feels with the whole “I gave birth to him” speech. With this they show how the mother feels and the heartbreak of the father blaming himself. There’s also the point in the relationship where they blame each other. Until the killer is given his sentence and they decide that the only justice is making him feel the same pain their son went through.

The torture bits were pretty gruesome. Since the father is a doctor he had all kinds of med to keep the guy awake.  Watching this guy get tortured I didn’t know whether to be right there with the parents and cheer or be horrified that someone was being tortured. I can’t talk more about without spoilers and I promised myself I’d do my best to avoid spoilers. So I’d say that was good but not great. I’d give it a B.

In closing I pose some questions: Were they torturing this guy for justice or were they torturing him just because it made them feel good? If the latter then doesn’t that make them just as bad as the killer?

Leave a Reply

