Liberator: A Review

http://liberatorcomic.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/liberator-iss1-cover1a.jpg?w=282&h=428

So this is my first comic/graphic novel that I’ve read. Damsel Cannibal was kind enough to let me borrow it. Well, I didn’t know whether to laugh hysterically or think it was pretty badass. I say hysterically because I love making fun yuppie groups like PETA. Although I do hate people who abuse animals. I thought this was badass because the main character Damon is my kind of hero. He doesn’t go looking for attention and doesn’t make a show of what he does. He has a mission, he makes a plan, and he executes that plan. Jeannette on the other hand is all about running around the streets shouting “FUR IS MURDER!!”

Anyway, the basic set up of this comic is that Damon and Jeannette are animal rights people. They hate any form of animal abuse. Jeannette organizes protest against furs, chicken abuse, dog fights etc. But most of the time she gets arrested for her troubles. Damon on the other hand is more of a vigilante. He hangs out in the shadows and takes matters into his own hands.

I also liked how it subtly reminded you about animal abuse. I don’t think people are as aware of it as they think. I mean I almost had a shit-fit when I heard that some of my neighbors were hosting Rooster Fights! Don’t worry, those neighbors have since had their chickens and roosters removed. It’s important that we are reminded that animals have feelings and should be respected.

At first I didn’t think that I would like it. I’m serious I didn’t want to like it. But it was actually pretty cool. Like I said earlier, Damon is my kind of character. He doesn’t show off. I’d actually recommend it to anybody.

Leave a Reply

