“The Tunnel” in Australia

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/1/16/The_Tunnel_(2011_film).jpg

Director: Carlo Ledesma

Starring: Bel Delia, Andy Rodoreda, Steve Davis

Whose bright idea was to go down the creepy-ass tunnel that the government doesn’t want you going into? That’s right, it’s the stupid ambitious reporter who wants to make a name for herself. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

So this is another “mocumentary” about a news crew who decides to investigate the metro tunnels in Sydney. They want to know why certain tunnels are closed and why the homeless who live there are going missing and the government doesn’t seem to care. Natasha(Bel Delia) recruits her cameramen to investigate the tunnels without her boss’ consent. Did I mention she didn’t tell her film crew that this story was off the books? After getting lost, Natasha and her crew run into mysterious creatures that think the news crew is dinner.

What to say about this movie? I hate reporters. Seriously I wanted to punch Natasha in the face. But besides that, I think this movie could’ve been better. The biggest issue I had with this movie was that it was really dark. Not dark as in the subject was dark but the lighting as a whole was way too dark. I could barely see anything. I think that was the point, but it took away from the terror of the creatures in the tunnels. You also didn’t get a good look at them which was probably for the best. Now that adds to the terror of “what are they?”!

I also liked that they broke up the movie so it wasn’t constant “found footage”. Instead they made it like a real documentary where there is an interviewer talking to the “survivors”. I thought it was a nice change in pace.

Anyway, I’d give this movie a C. 

Here’s a trailer:

Leave a Reply

