Critters in “The Bay”!

 http://blogs.bet.com/celebrities/what-the-flick/wp-content/uploads/2012/11/110112-celebs-the-bay-movie.jpg

Director: Barry Levinson

Starring: Will Rogers, Kristen Connolly, Kether Donohue

Holy crap! I loved this movie!!

Another “mocumentary” for you guys. I never get tired of these kind of movies. Anyway, the movie is about a small town by the ocean who become infested with little critters in their drinking water. Due to the unsanitary water(caused by all the chicken shit they dump in the ocean), these mutant bugs are everywhere. In the drinking water, the ocean, the shower…if it’s water it’s probably in it. The town fall into chaos when everyone suffers from rashes, then boils, and then get eaten from the inside out. Government cover-up? I think so!

This also played like a documentary where one of the survivors was being interviewed and explains her point of view. We see her as a news intern out and about for the Fourth of July celebration. We see her camera shots and she provides some commentary throughout the film. I honestly thought that she was annoying and unnecessary.  I think it was because it was always about her “oh my god! I can’t believe I wore that!” or “Oh my god, I can’t believe I asked those questions!” Really? Half the town is being eaten alive and the only piece of commentary is how embarrassed you are?

There are a few groups of characters you follow. There the young couple out on their boat, the oceanographers who first discovered the mutant bugs, the doctor at the hospital, the news intern, and the Sheriff. Each adds a different perspective to the confusion. I think I liked the doctor at the hospital and the sheriff the best. Mostly because the Doctor was arguing with the CDC and the Sheriff didn’t know whether to help the infected or euthanize the infected.

Obviously the main message was “keep the ocean clean”! But they did it in a fun entertaining way. I think this also shows that the Government has no clue on how to handle catastrophic incidents. After watching this movie, you’ll be thinking twice about drinking out of the tap.

I give this movie an A-

Leave a Reply

