“Dracula” is Bloody Sexy

http://seriesnews.biz/wp-content/uploads/2013/08/Dracula-Season-1-Poster-3.jpg

Wow…Just wow! I swear the whole time I was drooling so hopefully I can keep it together long enough to write this.

NBC’s new take on the Dracula legend begins with the arrival of American Industrialist Alexander Grayson entering London society. But Mr. Grayson is actually Vlad the Impaler himself hoping to bring down The Order of the Dragon, the same Order that murdered his wife and condemned him to live as a vampire. How will he do it? By attacking their wealth and maybe tearing a few heads off along the way. But Dracula also faces a problem when he sees Mine and feels she’s the reincarnation of his wife. We see the same characters such as Mina, Lucy, Jonathan Harker, Professor Van Hellsing and are introduced to some new ones like Lady Jane(a vampire hunter, member of the Order of the Dragon, and Dracula’s fuck buddy).

I found the change in the original characters’ roles interesting. Normally such changes make me angry because they just seem out of the blue, but I found it believable in this Dracula universe. For example, Mina is a med student hoping to become Professor Van Hellsing’s new assistant, Jonathan Harker is a struggling new reporter, and Van Hellsing was the one who woke up Dracula. It seemed a little weird at first but I’m enjoying it.

One of the things that I really appreciated was that Dracula can’t walk in the sunlight. He burns if he tries so I was pleased with that, I also like how animalistic when he preys on people. You can see that he’s a monster and not some brooding punk who thinks being a vegetarian means drinking animal blood. I also liked the original vampire hunting techniques being used such as crucifixes, garlic, stakes to the heart and beheading. Great way to keep the original alive.

Anyway, I’m excited for this series and I can’t wait to see what happens next!

Here’s a trailer:

Leave a Reply

